Brain Injury Association Logo


BIAA Recognizes Outstanding Researcher and Clinician


BIAA is pleased to announce the recipients of its two distinguished national awards.

Ross D. Zafonte, DO, Vice President of Medical Affairs at Spaulding Rehabilitation Network and the Earle P. and Ida S. Charlton Chairman of the department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Harvard Medical School, has been awarded the 2012 William Fields Caveness Award, which recognizes the individual who, through research on both a national and international level, has made outstanding contributions to bettering the lives of people who have sustained brain injury. Dr. Zafonte’s colleagues who nominated him said, “His clinical excellence, devotion to medical education and quest to develop novel therapies for those with traumatic brain injury represent major contributions to public health and the field of PM&R” and “he is the premier thought leader in the field of rehabilitation research for traumatic brain injury in the United States today.”

James F. Malec, PhD, Research Director for the Rehabilitation Hospital of Indiana Foundation, Adjunct Professor of PM&R, Indiana University School of Medicine, and Professor Emeritus of Psychology, Mayo Clinic, has received the 2011 Sheldon Berrol MD Clinical Service Award, which recognizes the individual who, through a long service career, has made outstanding contributions to improving the quality of care, professional training and/or education in the field of brain injury. While Dr. Malec’s illustrious career, including engagement in the field, collaboration with and support of varying organizations, and crucial involvement in the development of the Mayo-Portland Adaptability Inventory – and many other accomplishments – is well known, perhaps the best testament to his deserving this award comes from a newsletter announcing his departure from Mayo: “Dr. Malec has been an originator, founder, and legendary leader with his eye always on the horizon of concerns and needs of people with TBI” (Mayo Clinic, The Messenger, February 2008).

Both awards will be presented at the ACRM/ASNR annual conference in Vancouver, October 8-13, 2012.

BIAA thanks members of its Awards Committee for their work in evaluating the strong field of nominations this year. Committee members include Susan Bartlett, LCSW, CRC; Steven Flanagan, MD; Flora Hammond, MD; Harvey Jacobs, PhD; and Nathan Zasler, MD.

© 2015 Brain Injury Association of America. All Rights Reserved. Website Maintained by: Chicago Digital

1608 Spring Hill Road, Suite 110 • Vienna, VA 22182 • Phone: 703-761-0750 • Fax: 703-761-0755
National Brain Injury Information Center (Brain Injury Information Only) 1-800-444-6443

Fact Sheets  •  Legal Notices  •  Advertise  •  CONTACT US