Brain Injury Association Logo


Nominations Now Accepted for BIAA’s Esteemed Awards

18-Jun-2012 The Brain Injury Association of America seeks nominations for outstanding researchers and clinicians for recognition.

The William Fields Caveness Award recognizes the individual who, through research on both a national and international level, has made outstanding contributions to bettering the lives of people who have sustained brain injury.

The Sheldon Berrol, M.D. Clinical Service Award recognizes the individual who, through a long service career, has made outstanding contributions to improving the quality of care, professional training and/or education in the field of brain injury.

Both awards will be presented at the October 9-13, 2012, joint Conference of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine and American Society of Neurorehabilitation in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

The nomination form for both awards is here. All nominations must be received by 5 p.m. ET July 18, 2012. For more information, contact Marianna Abashian.

Previous Sheldon Berrol, M.D. Clinical Service Award Recipients:
1988 Mitchell Rosenthal, Ph.D.
1989 Muriel D. Lezak, Ph.D.
1990 Thomas E. Kay, Ph.D.
1991 L. Don Lehmkuhl, Ph.D.
1992 Guy L. Clifton, M.D.
1993 Nathaniel Mayer, M.D.
1994 Jeffrey S. Kreutzer, Ph.D.
1995 James P. Kelly, M.D.
1996 Randall Matthew Chestnut, M.D.
1997 Anne-Lise Christensen, Dr.h.c.
1998 Jam Ghajar, M.D., Ph.D.
1999 Catherine F. Bontke, M.D.
2000 Kathleen B. Fralish, Ph.D.
2001 Douglas Katz, M.D.
2002 Roberta DePompei, Ph.D.
2010 Jeffrey Englander, M.D.
2011 Nathan D. Zasler, M.D.

Previous William Caveness Award Recipient1981 W. Bryan Jennett, M.D., FRCS
1982 Yehuda Ben-Yishay, Ph.D.
1983 Sheldon Berrol, M.D.
1984 Thomas Gennarelli, M.D., FRCS
1985 Harvey S. Levin, Ph.D.
1986 Lawrence F. Marshall, Ph.D.
1987 Leonard Diller, Ph.D.
1988 Donald P. Becker, M.D.
1989 Murray Goldstein, DO, MPH
1990 George P. Prigatano, Ph.D.
1991 John T. Povlishock, Ph.D.
1992 Robert G. Grossman, M.D.
1993 Freda Gladys Newcombe, Ph.D.
1994 Howard M. Eisenberg, M.D.
1995 Anthony Marmarou, Ph.D.
1996 Andres M. Salazar, M.D.
1997 Raj K. Narayan, M.D., FACS
1998 John A. Jane, Sr., M.D., Ph.D., FRCS(c)
1999 Tracy Kahl McIntosh, Ph.D.
2000 Sureyya Dikmen, Ph.D.
2001 John D. Corrigan, Ph.D.
2002 John Whyte, M.D., Ph.D.
2010 Wayne A. Gordon, Ph.D., ABPP/Cn
2011 Flora M. Hammond, M.D.

© 2015 Brain Injury Association of America. All Rights Reserved. Website Maintained by: Chicago Digital

1608 Spring Hill Road, Suite 110 • Vienna, VA 22182 • Phone: 703-761-0750 • Fax: 703-761-0755
National Brain Injury Information Center (Brain Injury Information Only) 1-800-444-6443

Fact Sheets  •  Legal Notices  •  Advertise  •  CONTACT US