Brain Injury Association Logo


Professional Awards Nominations


You are invited to nominate outstanding researchers and clinicians for recognition by the Brain Injury Association of America.

Each year, the William Fields Caveness Award is presented by BIAA in recognition of an individual who, through research on both a national and international level, has made outstanding contributions to bettering the lives of people who have sustained brain injury. The Sheldon Berrol MD Clinical Service Award is presented each year to an individual who, through a long service career, has made outstanding contributions to improving the quality of care, professional training, and/or education in the field of brain injury.

The nomination form can be downloaded here. All nominations must be received by 5 p.m. EDT on July 10, 2013. For more information, contact Marianna Abashian.

Previous Sheldon Berrol, M.D. Clinical Service Award Recipients:

2012 James F. Malec, PhD
2011 Nathan D. Zasler, MD
2010 Jeffrey Englander, MD
2002 Roberta DePompei, PhD
2001 Douglas Katz, MD
2000 Kathleen B. Fralish, PhD
1999 Catherine F. Bontke, MD
1998 Jam Ghajar, MD, PhD
1997 Anne-Lise Christensen, Dr.h.c.
1996 Randall Matthew Chestnut, MD
1995 James P. Kelly, MD
1994 Jeffrey S. Kreutzer, PhD
1993 Nathaniel Mayer, MD
1992 Guy L. Clifton, MD
1991 L. Don Lehmkuhl, PhD
1990 Thomas E. Kay, PhD
1989 Muriel D. Lezak, PhD
1988 Mitchell Rosenthal, PhD
Previous William Caveness Award Recipients:

2012 Ross D. Zafonte, DO
2011 Flora M. Hammond, MD
2010 Wayne A. Gordon, PhD, ABPP/Cn
2002 John Whyte, MD, PhD
2001 John D. Corrigan, PhD
2000 Sureyya Dikmen, PhD
1999 Tracy Kahl McIntosh, PhD
1998 John A. Jane, Sr., MD, PhD, FRCS(c)
1997 Raj K. Narayan, MD, FACS
1996 Andres M. Salazar, MD
1995 Anthony Marmarou, PhD
1994 Howard M. Eisenberg, MD
1993 Freda Gladys Newcombe, PhD
1992 Robert G. Grossman, MD
1991 John T. Povlishock, PhD
1990 George P. Prigatano, PhD
1989 Murray Goldstein, DO, MPH
1988 Donald P. Becker, MD
1987 Leonard Diller, PhD
1986 Lawrence F. Marshall, PhD
1985 Harvey S. Levin, PhD
1984 Thomas Gennarelli, MD, FRCS
1983 Sheldon Berrol, MD
1982 Yehuda Ben-Yishay, PhD
1981 W. Bryan Jennett, MD, FRCS


© 2015 Brain Injury Association of America. All Rights Reserved. Website Maintained by: Chicago Digital

1608 Spring Hill Road, Suite 110 • Vienna, VA 22182 • Phone: 703-761-0750 • Fax: 703-761-0755
National Brain Injury Information Center (Brain Injury Information Only) 1-800-444-6443

Fact Sheets  •  Legal Notices  •  Advertise  •  CONTACT US